RSS in Education

My latest assignment in EDTECH 501 was to research and incorporate using RSS feeds in the classroom. I was hesitant about this assignment as I found it very challenging to incorporate into my math class.  I am not one to use technology just to say that I am using technology, but I want technology to enhance the learning of my students  It was very challenging to find a way to incorporate an RSS feeder into my classroom.  After much thought and many different ideas I decided that it would be best to create an ongoing project to help my statistics students develop and train themselves to understand the statistics that they see everyday. My lesson plan can be found here or below.

As I worked through this lesson plan I learned that an RSS feeder is a great tool to introduce to my students as I have enjoyed using an RSS feeder for this course and personal interests.  I thought about having the students create a learning log as we have in this course and use an RSS feeder to subscribe to each others logs, but I felt it did not reach the math connection that I desired.  I would like to incorporate learning logs in my classroom at sometime and I feel that using an RSS feeder will help my students to comment and join together in their learning process.  I am very excited about sharing the capabilities of an RSS feeder with other teachers at my school to use in their classrooms.

3 thoughts on “RSS in Education

  1. Kristin,
    I can relate, I found incorporating RSS into my lesson plan to be a challenge as well. Looking at your lesson plan you seemed to have done a good job integrating it with statistics. Nicel done!

    Like

  2. Thanks, Kristin. As a former high school math teacher, I found myself pondering how I would incorporate RSS into the math curriculum. The curriculum is way too full as it is. But your idea of relating RSS to a statistics project is a good one, and I hope you pursue it. There is significant potential to engage students here by allowing them to select what interests them: baseball stats, health, music, college acceptance rates, etc. In my experience, any lesson that was NOT about math was a welcome change in the classroom. If you have time to incorporate a well thought out project-based lesson which includes research and analysis, you have the potential to see some real critical thinking skills develop.

    Like

Leave a Reply

